So, what do you want to do about it?

In 3 weeks, my dance org will be holding a Dancesport competition. This is the 3rd time we’ll be doing this sort of thing, and this time, it’s going to be bigger than the past two. It’s going to be held at Meralco Sports Center (The last two were held just in the Ateneo college covered courts).

I’m a charge of inviting schools and dance studios to the event. It’s a lot harder than you think. Most schools/studios do not cooperate properly. They keep on telling us to call back again in a few days or the person in charge is not available right now, blah blah blah. It’s very frustrating, especially when you have this huge responsibility on you. Imagine, if no school/studio confirms their participation to the event, the whole thing is going to fail because we (my committee members and I) failed on our part. Our current president cannot stress that enough.

I updated her last night about the current situation we have with the schools/studios that we have invited. No one has given any names of participants, but they did show signs of interest. Then, our president goes, “So, what do you want to do about that?”

I strayed from the obvious answer, which is to call them again tomorrow til eternity and keep on asking about their decision. I did not answer that. Instead, I said, “Is it wise to give them a deadline of giving the names of the participants?” She then replies, basically saying, “yes, but isn’t there already a deadline in the forms? remind them nicely that the due date is nearing. With the schools who have showed interest, isn’t it not enough?” I said, “yes. 3 schools have said no and were still waiting for the replies from the emails we sent out.”

A few minutes later, she sends a very long text message. Basically, she says our efforts are not enough and that we have to do something about it.

So, now what do I want to do about it? It’s very easy to just give up and lose hope at this point, but that’s stupid. I have two weeks til the deadline for the submission of entry forms and I have 0 competitors. (Well, besides the ones from Savannah Moon Dance Studio. Still, I try not to include them in the picture for now because well, it’s them. They’re always there.)

There’s always a way, and tomorrow, I will test the way I have chosen to follow. If that doesn’t work there are a billion ways to do it. If plan A doesn’t work, there are 25 letters left on the alphabet. Basically, what I’m saying is, what I want to do is do my best in this and pray that it will all turn out great in the end.

Wish me luck! Til the next entry

Samantha Jean

Leave a Reply

