Busy Dance Week

As I’ve promised, I will be blogging more now because I have all the time in the world!

This week has been stressful for me, physically. I’ll be joining a Dance Sport Competition this Saturday hosted by the UP Dance Sport Society. (Few weeks back, it was me and my lovely team who organized a Dance Sport competition at Meralco Sports Center. Now, I get to compete!) Me competing was an accident, really. I was just supposed to watch other club members do their routines and correct them when necessary. It was only until Jessie said she couldn’t compete at the UP competition because she had class. Thus, I had to take her place.

I’ve never competed in my 2 1/2 years of dancing latin ballroom. This is a new thing for me and I am scared shitless. The only time my partner and I really got to practice was just last Monday, the 4th (HAHA and the competition is on the 9th) because I was busy during my finals week. So, we’ve been rehearsing just 2 routines for hours a day. You would think that it’s easy. “Oh, just 2 routines and 1 minute 30 seconds each? That’s a piece of cake!” Well, you are extremely mistaken. I am sore all over. I totally need a massage after this week!

Aside from the competition on Saturday, its the Dance Sport PE’s Finals Night/ Culminating Night. Since I’ll be graduating already, its time for the rest of the club to handle logistics of it all. I just have to check up on them and make sure that they’ve got everything covered! The rest of the club will be dancing a Samba Routine as an intermission number for the Night! They’ll be dancing to Show Me How You Burlesque by Christina Aguilera. It pains me a little (okay….fine…. maybe a lot) inside that I won’t be able to dance with them for one last time. I get to sit this one out and watch them take over. My term as their president will officially be over on Saturday and I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO DEAL WITH THAT. I just don’t want to leave them just yet.

I just would like to say that I am so happy that there are more boys in the club now. Dance Sport isn’t really seen as a manly thing (as other dance genres out there). Despite that, Enzo, a member of the club, managed to recruit a bunch of guys! And what’s even better is they’re all really trying their best to learn the routines and steps even if they’re having a hard time. They’re the type of guys you wouldn’t think would ever join dance. PERIOD. They’re such a joy to watch! HAHA. There are a number of girls as well who joined, and I’m very glad that little by little they are becoming more confident within their own bodies and also, showing me that they are doing their best to learn the dances even if, again, they are quite difficult to do. My wish is just that those people who joined will continue on dancing. I hope that I’ll still see those guys and girls next semester when I visit.

Tomorrow, or actually later, I have rehearsals again from 430pm-730pm. YEEEEY. I have no idea why I’m still up at 4 in the morning. I have to wake up early later too because I’m going on a breakfast/lunch/movie date with the boyfriend. I better try to at least get some sleep.

Wish me luck on Saturday! 🙂 pretty please? I’m gonna need it. HAHA

Til the next entry,
xoxo Samantha Jean

Leave a Reply

