“Well, I hope you know you have all the time in the world.”

My dad texted me that after I asked my parents, for the first time, if I could have dinner with Marco on Tuesday. His mom’s making BBQ ribs or something along those lines.

He got mad at me a couple of months ago and said, “Why do you have to rush? You’re smart and you have this whole future ahead of you!!!” My friends said it’s not like liking someone is going to compromise my future. I know that. He knows that. It’s like in the Top 10 Rules in whatever book it’s supposed to be in. I have my dreams and goals, and they still have not changed even when Marco walked into the picture. I still want to go to Europe. I still want to do everything on that things to do before you die list. So, relax, Dad.

First of all, it’s not like I’m getting married tomorrow.  It’s not like I’m moving to Seattle and starting a whole new life. I’m 20, and I know I have the world at my fingertips. Just let me be.   Second of all, this is all just normal stuff, isn’t it? (Isn’t it?) Boy likes girl-girl likes boy kind of stuff. Lastly, I’m happy. I hope you could see that.

Well, I guess this is a normal thing for dads, right? He can’t help but to be super over protective, especially towards his daughters.

But, enough on feeling blaah about what my dad said. They both allowed me to have dinner with Marco & his family anyway. So, yeeeeey 🙂 Baby steps. Wish me luck!

xoxo

2 thoughts on ““Well, I hope you know you have all the time in the world.”

Leave a Reply

