Day #3 – A Travel Destination That (Makes) Would Make You Happy

This is really a tough for me. Whichever place I think of, I feel like it’s the perfect one for this day’s post. But, I think of another place, and that one just knocks the last place out of the park! But, I think I’m going with my all time favorite travel destination ever since I was a little girl. I’ve never been to this place (hence, the slight edit of the title), so, if I do get the change to visit, that would really really make me very happy!

Are you guys familiar with the story of the Grand Duchess Anastasia? I fell in love with the history behind it,  as well as the urban legends. When I was a kid, the movie, Anastasia, was a big thing. It became one of my favorite animated movies of all time. It took place, of course, in Russia.

So, why Russia? Aside from Anastasia influencing me, when I was a kid, I’ve always wanted to learn ballet at the Bolshoi Ballet Company. Everyone in the dance world knows that Russians are one of the best dancers in the world, and the Bolshoi Ballet Company produce the best of the best ballet dancers ever. I wanted to be like the prima ballerinas I saw on TV. Sadly, that didn’t happen. Right now, I can hope to at least watch one of their full length performances, like Swan Lake or Giselle, at the Bolshoi Theater. Totally on my bucket list! In addition to that, I’ve always wanted to learn Russian! This just all came from watching that animated movie. haha. cray cray child.

I totally know Russia isn’t the best place to be in, and I know that maybe when I go there, I might have the ‘shattered glass effect’. But, who cares?

Now, enough chatting. Let’s look at some pictures!

Bolshoi Ballet Company (photo from Google Images)
Bolshoi Ballet Company
(photo from Google Images)
Bolshoi Theater (photo from Google Images)
Bolshoi Theater
(photo from Google Images)
Catherine Palace, St. Petersburg, Russia (photo from Google Images)
Catherine Palace, St. Petersburg, Russia
(photo from Google Images)
Peter Paul Cathedral  (photo from Google Images)
Peter Paul Cathedral
(photo from Google Images)
Church of Our Savior, St. Petersburg, Russia (photo from google images)
Church of Our Savior, St. Petersburg, Russia
(photo from google images)
Druzhba Narodov Fountain (photo from google images)
Druzhba Narodov Fountain
(photo from google images)
Saint Basil Cathedral (photo from google images)
Saint Basil Cathedral
(photo from google images)
Red Square, Moscow, Russia  (photo from google images)
Red Square, Moscow, Russia
(photo from google images)

So, there you have it. I’m totally loving this challenge so far! : )

Russia for the ‘travel destination that would make me happy’. 

Leave a Reply

