Day #8: A Travel Destination Where You Know All/ Most of the Sites

I chose a place I’ve fallen in love with in books, TVs, and magazines. It was my first time travelling alone so I really wanted to explore and just walk aimlessly in the city.

I think I’ve mentioned this on here a few times, but for the sake of this post, I will mention it again. Last year, I interned at the Philippine Department of Tourism in London. I stayed there for a month and a couple of weeks. Going to London for me felt like the first dip into the pool after a long hot day, the first time you tasted chocolate cake (If you don’t like chocolate or cake, then..why?), the first sip of water after doing a really tiring workout.  It was that aaaaaaaah-feel-good-heaven-on-earth feeling.

When I arrived there, I didn’t waste my time. I immediately wanted to tour the city with my mom’s friend, who was such a good tour guide and host! Trisha, my friend who interned in the Department as well,  said that she was able to see the famous sites in one day. Seeing as I did not want to fit everything in a day, I tried to divide the places in the 3 free days I had before my internship began. What really happened was that I saw 90% of the places in 1 day and just reserved 2 or 3 places on the 2nd day, and wen’t shopping for the rest of my free time…

The tourist spots I saw were: The London Eye, Big Ben, Piccadilly Circus, Tower Bridge, London Bridge, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, Temple Church, Westminster Abbey, St. Paul’s Cathedral, Oxford Street, Hyde Park… just the ones that we mostly see on the television or magazines.

On the other days that I was there, I went to the Victoria and Albert Museum, Greenwich with Trisha, and I went on a ‘Jack the Ripper’ tour with my bosses and Trisha as well (This was really cool and highly entertaining!) I think I can still find my way around their tube!

The rest of my days were spent in the office or going outside London to visit other famous tourist places. I’d have to say that Trisha and I have been to a lot of places in the span of a month! I mean, come on, who knows when we’ll be ever going back there again, right? Might as well make the most out of our stay.

Although, I regret not doing more research before hand on the other places that I could’ve gone to that I know would interest me greatly. Maybe it’s written in my path again to go back. Just Maybe.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

There you have it. ‘Til the next entry.

London for the ‘travel destination where I know all/most of the sites’ : ) 

Leave a Reply

