Sports and I

I’ve never been the type of person to be interested in watching sports aside from those that are dance in nature (i.e figure skating and gymnastics). I cannot, as much as I try, understand the rules (aside from ‘the ball has to be placed somewhere to get a point’ rule. I’ve got that covered!) of any game – basketball, football, American football, baseball, or tennis. Also, I can never remember the names of each player aside from the ones that constantly appear on my news feeds. Aside from David Beckham, Michael Phelps, Kobe Bryant, Cristiano Ronaldo, Rafael Nadal, Maria Sharapova, the Williams Sisters, and I’m sure there are a few more stored in my mind that I cannot get out (Forgive me!), I do not know anyone else.

With it being a FIFA year, NBA season practically all the time, constant Tennis matches and the Philippine National basketball team going to Spain to compete, I feel totally, and I mean T-O-T-A-L-L-Y, out of place with all the sports related posts everywhere.

I can’t help but feel like I’ve missed something growing up. I mean, I think that my friends have been watching these sports since they were little with their dads most likely, and they’ve carried on who they love and hate all throughout their lives. I on the other hand had none whatsoever of that kind of experience. I never forced myself to stay up to watch a match, I never subscribed to any online blog or live feed just to be up to date about the current score, I never tweeted “Let’s goooooooo England!” or “Two more sets ’til Nadal wins!!! Almost there!”. Never. Sometimes, I don’t even know what channel to watch them on. I can already tell ya’ll giving me this. HAHA.

It’s not even that I didn’t like any of my PE experience when I was in school. I actually do like being active and playing whatever sport the teacher throws at me. I just do not have the motivation that most of my friends have when it comes to watching games. Sure, I’ll watch a FIFA match when I catch it on TV, but I wouldn’t stay up from 12am til 6am just to catch all the games. (For those who don’t know, I live on the other side of the world from Brazil so FIFA fans here are hardcore!) Nor will I sit through the whole thing and put my whole attention on the game. I’d occasionally switch channels or have it play in the background while I study or paint. Same thing goes for the others. Although, I do try to catch the final games (which I am going to do for this year’s World Cup!), but I never know when they’re on because I never subscribe to the matches. Next thing I knew, Djokovic already won the Wimbledon championships without even knowing that it was happening. Let’s all give a big sigh together…

I wish I had the same enthusiasm as some of my friends do. I wish I had a certain athlete or team to root for. But I don’t. I may feel like I’m missing out, but I can always pretend to understand all these when I’m with my friends and we start screaming, “OY OY OY GET THE BALL/ KICK THE BALL/ HIT THE BALL” frantically at the TV, and I start rooting for the team that they all want to win. I’ve got tons of practice in that! : P

Leave a Reply

